Cheese & Bacon Pinwheel bites

I don’t really have a recipe for this – apart from using the bread dough recipe I have blogged here previously. Last night my sons both had friends over, so I cooked up a few nibblies for them all – this was one of the treats.  They were yummy!!

So.. I started off a bit earlier on making  a bread dough.  People love to use all kinds of things to make the dough base – Pizza bases, yoghurt dough and so on.  I chose this one as it’s tried and trusted – it comes from my Bellini manual.

The dough - ready!
The dough – ready!

While that was rising I chopped some onions finely – and I cheated and used bought bacon bits, then placed them in my air fryer (or you could fry them in a pan) to crisp the bacon bits and soften the onion.  I added to it some of my home made bolognese paste – about a tablespoon, and some crushed garlic.

Chop finely
Chop finely
Air fryer magic
Air fryer magic

The dough is ready! Looks superb! Punched a hole in it and tipped it onto a floured board and kneaded it, then split it into 4 parts for ease of use.

Kneaded and ready to go.  Oh.. that's the garlic, ready to add the other ingredients.
Kneaded and ready to go. Oh.. that’s the garlic, ready to add the other ingredients.

Then rolled it out flat to about 5mm ,  sprinkled on it some cheese and the onion & bacon mix. The bit with no topping – spread a little water on it so it will stick once rolled.

Rolled flat, spread the ingredients, dab with water and roll!
Rolled flat, spread the ingredients, dab with water and roll!

Cut into slices about 1 – 1.5 cm thick (to your liking) and put in the oven preheated to 190 and cook for 10 mins.  I checked it to make sure they didn’t burn.  This made about 3 dozen at the thickness I wanted.

The final product - very tasty!
The final product – very tasty!

As you can see – they look inviting! I sprinkled them lightly with parmesan cheese just to give a little extra flavour.

Excuse the plastic bowl, the boys were all in the shed, so I figured rather than hope they’d return plates, I’d use disposables!

One Comment Add yours

  1. atkokosplace says:

    Very creative snack. Lucky kids! 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment